We’re moving! Our Plano office is moving to West Plano at the end of May.

Skip to Content
Call Us Today Plano: 972-560-6288 Mansfield: 682-356-4820

Blogs from January, 2024

Woman looking at medication

Medicaid is a federal and state-funded healthcare program that provides medical assistance to low-income families and individuals. Many people are not aware of this program due to limited knowledge about healthcare programs. However, it is essential to understand eligibility for Medicaid to know if one is qualified to receive its benefits.

1. Income Requirements

One of the primary eligibility requirements for Medicaid is income. Medicaid's income limits vary by state, and some have higher income limits than others. The income limits are usually determined by the Federal Poverty Level (FPL). The FPL is set at 100% of the poverty level, which varies per household size. For example, in 2021, the FPL income for a household of one was $12,880. In most states, an individual's income must be below 138% of the FPL to qualify for Medicaid.

2. Residency Requirements

To be eligible for Medicaid, an individual should be a U.S. citizen or a qualified immigrant. In addition, the person must be a resident of the state where they are applying for Medicaid. A person may be required to provide proof of residency, such as a utility bill, rent receipt, or lease agreement.

3. Age, Disability, and Pregnant Women

Medicaid covers various groups of people, including children, pregnant women, and people with disabilities. Children under the age of 19 may be eligible for Medicaid regardless of their family's income. Pregnant women may qualify for Medicaid if their income falls below the state's income limit. People with disabilities may receive Medicaid benefits if they meet the income and asset criteria.

4. Asset Limits

In addition to income limits, Medicaid also sets asset limits based on the applicant's household size. The asset limit can include assets such as bank accounts, property, and vehicles. Asset limits vary by state, and some states may not have any asset limits at all. Additionally, some assets may be exempt from the calculation, such as the family's primary home.

5. Medicaid Expansion

The Affordable Care Act (ACA) expanded Medicaid eligibility to adults who are not disabled and do not have children. The expansion increased the income limit to 138% of the FPL. However, not all states have implemented the expansion, and the income limits may vary between states.

Dallas-Fort Worth Adult Medicaid Attorneys

Qualifying for Medicaid can be a complex process, but understanding the eligibility requirements and how to apply can help you get the healthcare coverage you need. If you need assistance with the Medicaid qualification process or have any questions, Crain & Wooley can help. Our team of experienced attorneys can guide you through the process and ensure that you receive the benefits you're entitled to. Contact us today at (972) 945-1610 to learn more.

Share To: